The Lecture Series  on “Introduction to optimization and multidisciplinary design in Aeronautics and Turbomachinery” was held von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics, Sint-Genesius-Rode (near Brussels), Belgium from April 7th to 11th, 2014.

Attentance to the Lecture Series on optimization and multidisciplinary designInnovative optimization and design techniques for modern aircraft (manned or UAV/UCAV) and engine systems aiming at maximum performance in a multidisciplinary context (aerodynamic efficiency, safety, drag, losses, weight, strength, heat fluxes, emission, noise, …), are now rapidly moving from research labs to industrial real and virtual platforms. To reach concurrently this level of excellence, emergent optimization methodologies require more and more robust and efficient associated software for a daily use in industrial collaborative design environments.

This course intends to provide the basic concepts and tools behind this technology, both in single discipline (single point or multi point design) and multidisciplinary (fluid-structure interaction, fluid-acoustics, conjugate heat transfer, …) context. Subjects which were treated in detail include: gradient based and steepest descent methods, adjoint methods, one shot or goal oriented methods, evolutionary/differential evolution algorithms on parallel environments, game strategies like Pareto Fronts and Nash Equilibrium, parameterization, surrogate and reduced-order modeling (Radial Basis functions, Artificial Neural Networks, Kriging …), multifidelity modeling approaches,  robust design, …)

The content of this Course was oriented towards junior and experienced engineers and researchers involved in the field of multi disciplinary design and looking for innovative numerical solutions - or set of solutions- for complex multi criteria optimization problems.

The lectures Series team directors were Prof. J. Périaux, from CIMNE/UPC, Spain and Univ. of Jyvaskyla, Finland and Prof. T. Verstraete from the von Karman Institute. The event was attended by 58 participants, among them 12 lecturers specialized in the field:
Prof. J. Alonso (Stanford University, USA), Prof. R. Dwight (TU Delft, The Netherlands), Prof. N. Gauger (RWTH Aachen University, Germany), Mr. D. Knoerzer (European Commission, Belgium), , Dr. J. Vassberg (The Boeing Company, USA), Prof. T. Verstraete (von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics, Belgium), Prof. O. Pironneau (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France), Prof. S. Shahpar (Rolls-Royce, United Kingdom), Prof. J.  Périaux (CIMNE/UPC and Univ. of Jyvaskyla, Spain).

Twitter Facebook Twitter Subscribe




ESA          LEDITH