Ercoftac Leonardo da Vinci Award 2018

Alejandra Alvarez Laguna was selected as finalist of the Ercoftac Leonardo da Vinci Award 2018 in recognition of the oustanding quality of his doctoral research by the European Research Community on Flow, Turbulence and Combustion.

Alejandro Alvarez Laguna completed in December 2017 his PhD dissertation entitled "Multi-fluid modeling of magnetic reconnection in solar partially ionized and laboratory plasmas". His PhD work was co-supervised by Prof. Dr. Stefaan Poedts from  KU Leuven and Prof. Dr. Herman Deconinck from the von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics.

The 13th ERCOFTAC da Vinci Competition took place on October 18th, 2018 at the University of Technology in Warsaw, Poland.

Picture of the Ercoftac Award

From left to right: Dr Markus Schremb from Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany; Dr Xiaojue Zhu from Universiteit Twente, The Netherlands who is now working at Harvard University, USA; Dr Alejandro Alvarez Laguna from Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium who is currently working at École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France; Dr Mark L. McAllister from the University of Oxford, UK; Dr Lorenzo Siconolfi from Università di Pisa, Italy, who is currently working in École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland.

Twitter Facebook Twitter Subscribe




ESA          LEDITH